Tick, Tick, Tick…

Time… It just keeps going. You can’t stop it, really. Only Hiro can do that… or can he? Anyways, here I am writing this a day late. No excuses… I just didn’t even think of my blog yesterday. Not in the least. I had too much going on. And now I am at DunDraCon and kicking back and relaxing.

Mhari and I are doing okay. She’s got health things that has her with more doctor’s appointments than normal, but nothing to be worried about at this point. I’m still worried. I think she is, too, but she’s hiding it very well.

I can’t really tell you a whole lot about the past week. I worked, Mhari did post-FC things. I finished reading The Scourge of God by S.M. Stirling and you can read my review by just looking back in my blog. I’ve got another book review I need to do as I finished another book last night. And now that I have gotten a trip or to through the dealer room at DDC, I’ve got some game books to read. Lots of fodder for my reviews. I’ve been wanting to read another game rules…


MMOs:
City of Heroes: Yup. Been playing. Even got in a fraction of a session last night on the laptop from the hotel room. New laptop seems to work well. Refurb Inspiron 1525 from the Dell outlet. Nice system at a good price. Claims to have ‘scratches or dents’… all I see is a little scuff on the outside lid… cool!

I don’t have a lot to say about the game that hasn’t been said before… other than since we moved the villain night to Wed we have 9-10 players rather than 7-8… hmmmm. Might have to split into a 5 team and 4 team. We’ll see. Or spin it out to a second night once ‘Flying Fox’s Team’ of heroes get to 50… some of Them are level 42 now….one of our villains may swap to playing with us on Friday nights instead as we get close to his level 48 defender that he’d love to get to 50. We’ll see.

Don’t really have any other MMOs to talk about. I’ve heard rumors about the workforce on the Champions MMO being cut back so they can shift over to the Star Trek MMO to get that out the door faster and better due to licensing issues and guarantees and things. We’ll see how much credence we can place into that. It’s just rumor and here-say at this point but I have heard it from two independent sources. (Which I am NOT going to reveal.) Makes me worry about Champions as I had been hearing some really good things about it from the New York ComiCon, then I hear this… things that make you go ‘hmmmm’.

I do know that BOTH of these MMOs interest me. Champions because I have been playing the Pen and Paper game since it was introduced back in July of 1981 at Pacific Origins. And Star Trek because… well… I’m a Trekie. I have been since the 70’s… I just hope Cryptic can pull it off. If they fail with BOTH Champions and Star Trek… I don’t think they will survive the experience.

Of course, the other MMO I am interested in is DC Universe. But I think I may not like that all that much. I just have this feeling that it will be too limited in some manner. But it could be a really killer and challenger. Though external IP licensed MMOs haven’t done all that well, really. Of course, it’s also true that these days we compare everything to the ‘success’ of World of Warcraft. Blizzard has done kick-tail there. No one can question that. But was it due to some highly intelligent wooing of the major guilds from EverQuest? Or just the right thing at the right time in the right place? I think it is some of the above. Now everyone wants that piece of the pie.

Meanwhile, I keep playing City of Heroes. It’s where my friends play, my wife plays… it’s fun. I’ll keep playing. Though I will admit to being in the middle of a ‘it feels the same’. I am hoping that all the player contributed content that will be enabled via the next expansion will help with that. It sure is going to be interesting.


Okay, I’m done with this entry. I am going to go read Mutant City Blues by Robin D Laws from Pelgrane Press and see how it sounds. It’s hook reads: "Ten years ago, 1% of the population gained mutant powers. 1% of the citizens means 1% of the CRIMINALS! You’re the cops who clean up the mess." That was enough for me to buy the last copy from the dealer… the game officially comes out next week. This is a early release copy. I’ve only read just the introduction, but so far this sounds interesting. So I want to get back to it.

Thanks for reading…


Happy Valentine’s Day, Mhari, my love!!!!
Leave a Reply

